Delicious Allergy Friendly Hersheyette Holiday Cookies

I was strolling through the local Kroger (early early in the morning to avoid the Christmas rush) and came across something very exciting…Hersheyettes.

So, what are Hersheyettes?  Well, as you can guess, it is made by Hershey’s and is a candy coated chocolate that highly resembles an m&m.  The only packaging I have found them in is a plastic candy cane tube with a red handle. They are peanut, nut, and gluten free.  :)  That’s right…it’s allergen friendly!  I even called Hershey’s to double check.

Hershey’s customer service was impeccable.  My customer representative was endlessly patient and very well versed in food allergies.  He explained to me that Hershey’s has a strict labeling procedure that will include allergens such as nuts and peanuts in the ingredient listing or if there is concern of contamination will include a “may contain traces of” statement.  If only all companies would do this…

My son is peanut and nut free and I am gluten free, so you can imagine my delight at sharing these with my son who has never tasted a real m&m.  I couldn’t wait to share them with him.  The smile on his face when he saw what I came home from the grocery store with completely warmed my heart.  He was tickled to be eating a “fake” m&m!

The only downside of my call with Hershey’s was that the customer representative said Hersheyettes are only produced during the Christmas season.  HUGE bummer. I highly encouraged him to let the powers that be know how much a product like Hersheyettes means to the food allergy community and how welcome year-round sales would be.  I also followed up with an email.  Please take a few minutes to email them commend them on this product and encourage them to make it year-round.

Since Hersheyettes are sold for a limited time only, I went back and cleaned them out the best I could so my son could enjoy these candy covered chocolates even after Christmas.  I let my son eat a few and then decided it would be fun to use the candies to make “fake m&m cookies.”

Here is the recipe:

Hersheyettes Holiday Cookies (yields about 24 cookies)

  • 2/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup Crisco shortening
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/2 cups King Arthur Gluten-Free Baking Flour
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vaking soda
  • 1 cup of Hersheyettes candies – divided

Directions:

Cream sugar and shortening together.  Add eggs and vanilla extract until thoroughly mixed.  Add flour, salt, and baking soda and mix thoroughly.  Stir in 1/2 cup of Hersheyettes.  Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Hersheyettes Cookie Dough

Press a couple of Hersheyettes onto the top of each cookie.  Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

Hersheyettes Cookies

These are fabulous and were a HUGE hit for me and my son!  What a wonderful Christmas treat.  I just bet Santa will love them too!

Merry Christmas!

P.S.  For those of you wondering, I’ve contacted Mars Candies (makes m&ms) several times about their product not bieng food allergy friendly and have not had so much as a reply.  :(   Hershey totally has them beat with customer service and superior products.

7 thoughts on “Delicious Allergy Friendly Hersheyette Holiday Cookies

  1. I love Hersheyettes and am glad someone else does. I too am gluten free, and peanut free. I will be letting Hershey know that I would love to have their product year round. Love the Allergy Statement on the Chocolate Covered Cherries and the Andes Mints, lol. Too bad everyone cannot be as consistent in keeping their products separated.

  2. Pingback: Peanut, Nut, and Gluten-Free Valentine Treats That Will Make You Smile | The Food Allergy Mom

  3. I found Hersheyettes at Walmart around Valentines Day. My son is peanut/tree nut free so this was a wonderful surprise as I’ve spent lots of money on shipping to get a similar items from peanut/tree nut free sites. Keep your eyes open – maybe they will have more around Easter.

  4. Walmart had them in special Easter packaging as well-they look like those cellophane “carrots” with Reese’s pieces inside, but they are white Hersheyettes and the cellophane looks like a rabbit-hope you find them:)

  5. Thank you so much for posting on these awesome Hersheyettes! We’re a peanut-free family, and like all other allergic families, we’re always on the hunt for safe (while affordable) chocolate options. My kids were elated to find those fun candy cane chocolates in their stockings … so first thing I thought to do was write Hershey and beg them to make these yummy chocolates available year end. I happened upon your blog, and really appreciated the link you provided … I immediately wrote my comments and pleaded our case. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

