Marinell’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I baked cookies today.  I know, it’s shameful considering we all gorged ourselves during the holiday break.  Still, I want some safe homemade goodies for my kids to take to school when we start back.

This recipe just called my name today.  It’s from a friend of my grandmother’s, Marinell.  She is also a wonderful cook just as my grandmother was, so I knew this recipe would be a winner.  It did not disappoint!

To make the cookie nut and tree nut free, I tweaked the recipe a bit, but my kids still loved it!   We hope you enjoy it too!

Marinell’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1.5 cups flour (could probably substitute King Arthur gf flour here to make gluten-free)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 snack pack applesauce (about 1/2 cup)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon hot water
  • 2 cups oatmeal (could probably use a gf oatmeal here to make cookie gluten-free)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 package of chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s)

Directions:  Combine applesauce, sugars, and vanilla and mix well.  Then mix in the eggs, one at a time.  Add flour, baking soda, and salt and mix well.  Add hot water and then fold in oatmeal and chocolate chips.

Marinell's oatmeal chocolate chip cookie1

Put tablespoon drops of the dough on a greased cookie pan and bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes or until just slightly brown.

Marinell's oatmeal chocolate chip cookie2

These cookies baked up beautifully and were a HUGE hit!  Enjoy!

Marinell's oatmeal chocolate chip cookie3

Baker’s Note:  I’m also guessing raisins would be lovely in place of the chocolate chips or possibly in addition to them.  Have fun with this recipe and let me know if you try any different variations!

4 thoughts on “Marinell’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: New Hershey Park, Sugar-free sugar cookies, and my New Year’s Rez « All Things Chocolate

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Kisses | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Bit Applesauce Cake | familyrecipebooks

  4. Pingback: Oatmeal Kisses | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

