Sun Cups: Peanut/Nut/Gluten-Free Chocolate Delight

I’m a card carrying member of the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups fan club…or at least I used to be before my son was diagnosed with a peanut allergy.  There’s just something decadently rich and delicious about the mixture of chocolate and peanut butter.  Oh, if only there were a peanut/nut-free version for those with allergies…especially for the holiday, I mean…ahem..candy, season.

Call me Santa and let me introduce you to Sun Cups!  I received an email from this company a week or so ago with some interesting stats about the 6 million children in the U.S. diagnosed with potentially life-threatening food allergies.   Sun Cups developed their own peanut/nut/gluten/corn/soy-free chocolate cups made with creamy all-natural chocolate with roasted sunflower butter.

I know…I’ve seen the Pinterest pins online where people make their own allergy-friendly version of the peanut butter cup, but wouldn’t it be nice to share this product with others as a safe candy they can order to hand out at Halloween or use as a safe holiday treat?  Yes!!!

I received a box of goodies from Sun Cups today containing:  Milk Chocolate Sun Cups, Dark Chocolate Sun Cups, Milk Chocolate Caramel Cups, and Dark Chocolate Mint Cups.  All those delicious sounding flavors…but would they have the same sweet taste to back it up?

Sun Cups Product

Normally I don’t comment on the shipping status of products I receive to review, but I couldn’t let this one go without commenting.  My Sun Cups arrived in a cooler bag with an ice pack packaged inside another cooler bag.  This company went above and beyond to make sure I received their product in pristine condition…a huge plus for me if I am spending money to have something shipped.

Once I sifted through the cooler bags, I uncovered the candy samples.  Each package is a very similar version to that of a Reese’s peanut butter cup package and contains two Sun Cups.  Upon closer inspection, even the individual Sun Cups themselves are wrapped in that same black crinkled wrapper and have the same fluted edges as their competitor.  My son was almost giddy with anticipation that he would get to try a safe product that looked so much like the real thing!  Still, I doubted it could taste as good as my memories of a Reese’s.

But it was…   In fact, it was fantastic!  We enjoyed all of the flavors, but Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Mint were the top two favorites.

Bottom Line:  I would highly recommend this product.  Sun Cups are delicious, free of several allergens, and the company has impeccable customer service.  What’s not to like?

On a personal note:  Thank you, Sun Cups, for making a safe Halloween treat for my son to safely enjoy and feel like part of the group!

One thought on “Sun Cups: Peanut/Nut/Gluten-Free Chocolate Delight

  1. Pingback: Sun Cups in Your Stocking | The Little Green Playpen

Leave a Reply

