Holiday Pie a No-Go With Pillsbury Gluten-Free Pie Crust: A Product Review

Most of you know I’m gluten-free due to celiac disease and my son has multiple food allergies including peanuts and nuts.  Those of you who have multiple different food allergies in your family can appreciate the challenges that statement brings.

The only really bad part about being the only one gluten-free in my family is that when I make a gluten-free goodie, it usually beckons for me to eat it…all of it…by myself…as it’s not always safe for my son to eat and not always what the rest of my family would consider as delicious as gluten-filled things.

I’ve heard a lot about the new gluten-free line from Pillsbury and it got my curiosity up.  There are so many supposedly allergy-friendly products out there on the market, and let’s be honest…some of them are as delicious as their claims and some of them taste like, well, feet.  That’s right…I said it.  I’m being honest.

So, when I found the Pillsbury tubs of gluten-free goodness at my local H-E-B, I got one of each:  chocolate chip cookie dough, pizza crust, and pie crust.  (Each tub was a little under $5, cheap compared to some gluten-free products.)  Every time I opened my fridge they sat there staring at me and finally this past week I got a bee in my bonnet and finally made them.

If you take a glance at my other Pillsbury posts, you will know that I LOVED the gluten-free chocolate chip cookie dough.  It was fantastic.  The gluten-free pizza crust on the other hand, was a total bust.

Pillsbury Pie Crust2

Unfortunately, my review of the gluten-free Pillsbury pie crust isn’t much better than that of their pizza dough.  Full disclosure here…my husband actually made the pie, but I stood by and watched to see how the pie dough rolled out and how manageable it was.

The pie crust was not easy to roll out into a workable pie shaped circle and even then, it took more than the half of the dough that the product claimed it would.  The dough was also difficult to make a standard consistency with some spots being much thinner than others.   Once the dough was in the pie plate and ready to go, we added pumpkin pie filling and put it in the oven to cook (followed the directions on a can of Libby’s pumpkin).

Pillsbury Pie Crust1

The edges of the pie crust were burnt, despite following directions to keep that exact thing from happening.  The pie crust tasted more than a little bitter and extremely dense and crunchy.  It was far from the light and fluffy texture I’m used to when I make my own gluten-free pie crust from scratch from a King Arthur recipe.

Bottom Line:  The only Pillsbury product I will buy from their gluten-free line is their chocolate chip cookie dough.  As for the pizza dough and pie crust, I would steer clear of both this holiday season and all year long and instead make your own.

 

3 thoughts on “Holiday Pie a No-Go With Pillsbury Gluten-Free Pie Crust: A Product Review

  1. Thanks for this review! Even though my grandfather has been GF for… 8 years(?), I was diagnosed in September. Due to recent job losses in my family and now this new diet, I’ve had to stick to pre-made things, as much as I love to bake, I just can’t replace everything and every fact that I know just yet. So, for now, no holiday pie for me this year, but there will be warm, fresh-out-of-the-oven cookies for me! I just didn’t have the money to take the $6 jump on the Pillsbury cookies until I heard some good about it.

    Long story short, after reading this, I screamed “yeeeeah!” with my fist in the air and everything. You’ve gained a subscriber/follower. :)

  2. Just tried the Pillsbury Gluten Free pie crust fro the second time. Made a pumpkin pie both times. The first one came out very dark (covered the crust with foil whole baking time), and it was fought and hard. Thought I would give it one more try, since the first time I used a glass pie dish and thought maybe that may have affected the out come. Same results the second time using a metal pan. I found a recipe from King Arthur Flour that got a 5 star rating that I’m going to try. We love all the King Arthur GF products.

Leave a Reply

