Mylan Specialty Listens To Food Allergy Moms

Do you ever feel like you are battling your family’s food allergies all alone?  Do you think that if only someone would listen, great ideas could be born?  Do you wonder who is taking care of you while you are taking care of your family?

This post is for you because Mylan listens!

Who is Mylan?

Mylan is one of the largest generics and specialty pharmaceutical companies in the world, manufacturing and marketing more than 1,300 different products to retail, wholesale, government and institutional customers.  They manufacture or market 1 out of every 11 prescriptions in the United States.

IMG_3651

What do they have to do with food allergies?

Mylan Specialty, a subsidiary of Mylan Inc., develops, manufactures and markets prescription drug products for life-threatening allergic reactions, more specifically, the EpiPen® (epinephrine) 0.3 mg and EpiPen Jr® (epinephrine) 0.15 mg auto-injectors.

 

Why should I care?

Mylan Specialty has hosted three Blogger Summits for prominent mom bloggers in the food allergy community since January 2013.  A typical summit lasts a day and a half and is comprised of an average of 15 food allergy bloggers.  The agenda usually includes ground-breaking news on education, advocacy, and research.  The most amazing and inspiring part of the summit is when they open the floor to hear from mothers and bloggers who are on the front lines every day protecting our children and living the food allergy life.  And you know what?  Mylan actually LISTENS!

It’s a brilliant concept for a pharmaceutical company to spend money on listening to parents and caregivers in the food allergy community and then asking how they can help.  For the life of me, I can’t figure out why more companies don’t do it.

2014 Mylan Blogger Summit  (Left to right: Homa Woodrum, Kelley Lindberg, Joanne LaSpina, Dr. Ruchi Gupta, Lisa Rutter, Colette Martin, Jenny Sprague, Keeley McGuire, Elizabeth DiBurro, Ruth LovettSmith, Kimberly Pellicore, Lindsey Steffensen, Kristen Rutter, Rachel Hayden, Tracy Bush)

2014 Mylan Blogger Summit (Left to right: Homa Woodrum, Kelley Lindberg, Joanne LaSpina, Dr. Ruchi Gupta, Lisa Rutter, Colette Martin, Jenny Sprague, Keeley McGuire, Elizabeth DiBurro, Ruth LovettSmith, Kimberly Pellicore, Lindsey Steffensen, Kristen Rutter, Rachel Hayden, Tracy Bush)

The group of food allergy moms gathered at the 2014 Mylan Blogger Summit were greeted by and introduced to none other than Tony Mauro, President of Mylan North America.  I’m guessing Tony’s day is filled with back-to-back appointments and meetings, but he took over an hour to sit in with some food allergy moms and hear about their children, their jobs, and their food allergy journeys.

Tony Mauro, Mylan

Tony Mauro, Mylan

While many of my blogger counterparts that attended the summit are renowned authors and activists, I am simply a mom who began this blog years ago because there was a need for a positive, common-sense approach to daily life with food allergies.  I’m not a book author.  I’m not a rock star.  I’m the mother of a child with food allergies doing the best I can for him, for me, and for my family every day.  And the President of Mylan North America wanted to hear all about it.

Mylan listens.

And last week when they were listening to me, they were really listening to you because I was simply the voice for everything all of you have and continue to share with me about your food allergy journeys.

 

What Can I Expect?

As you can guess from the above, Mylan was gracious enough to invite me back for the 2014 Mylan Blogger Summit.

IMG_3656

In the coming days, I will be posting some exciting things Mylan Specialty shared with me: information about education, advocacy, research and even the EpiPen®.  Be sure to stay tuned…

*In the interest of full disclosure, Mylan did pay for my flight and hotel accommodations.  However, I can tell you that the summit was provided as an educational service and I am not required to blog about or share any information I obtained while there.

 

**I disclose in any communication made by me about EpiPen® (epinephrine) Auto-Injector and/or the Mylan Specialty Blogger Summit that such communication is at my own discretion and based on my own opinion.  I also disclose that my travel expenses were compensated by Mylan Specialty in exchange for evaluation and feedback on information presented during the meeting.

 

4 thoughts on “Mylan Specialty Listens To Food Allergy Moms

  1. Okay, now I’m feeling jealous about the cool notebook! GREAT write up. Sorry I was not there, but I did enjoy the baby shower, spring break, Disneyland and playing with nephew’s brand new twins! Next time?

Leave a Reply

