Perfectly Pumpkin Muffins

Before food allergies came into our family, I was all about the pre-packaged mixes.  They simplified life.  After all, if you could follow directions, pick up an additional one to three ingredients, and mix them all together with a special touch here and there…you could give Rachael Ray a run for her money!

As a non-cook, I was disheartened at the thought of having to come up with my own concoctions.  Oh, I tried a few of the allergen free baking mixes in a box (albeit seven years ago when just starting out on my journey) but they were too hard to swallow…literally.  My son threw it on the ground and my husband told me it tasted like feet.  Sad, yes, but true!

Finally, a friend shared a recipe with me that I was able to tweak and make allergy friendly for my son who has peanut, tree nut, chickpea/garbanzo, and sesame allergies.  And…drum roll please…it comes from a box (partially).

Perfectly Pumpkin Muffins

1 Box Peanut and Nut-Free Recipe Yellow Cake Mix (just the dry mix)

1 can of pureed pumpkin

2 Tablespoons of cinnamon

2 Tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice

1/2 cup water

Mix all ingredients together and fill each muffin tin three-quarters of the way full.  Recipe usually yields 15-20 muffins.  Follow temperature and baking instructions listed on the box.  These muffins are kid and husband friendly and freeze very well.  Sometimes for an extra-special treat I will throw in a few chocolate chips, but my kids seem to like them better without.

*Please note that ingredients can change from time to time and you should always recheck the ingredient list on products when you buy.

We just might be feasting on these at my house Christmas morning!

Leave a Reply

