Chocolate Coca-Cola Cake (Peanut-Free, Nut-Free, Gluten-Free)

We have a big football celebration coming up at my house…an Aggie bowl game!  Everyone is pitching in and bringing something different and my contribution is dessert.

Sometimes I feel like I get in a rut and make the same desserts because I already know they work and are safe for everyone.  After the holidays, I’m feeling like I’m in one of those ruts.  So, I decided to throw caution to the wind and revamp a recipe given to me by my grandmother.

The original recipe called for nuts, which I left out.  And I was even so bold as to substitute gluten-free flour for regular baking flour so I would be able to eat it as well.  It has been my experience that you can’t just substitute any gluten-free flour for regular flour and expect it to come out right.  You have to be choosy.  I’ve found a new gluten-free flour product on my grocer’s shelves called King Arthur Flour Gluten-Free Multi-Purpose Flour.

This is my favorite baking flour because it is wheat-free, nut-free, and soy-free.  We have multiple food allergies in my family, so any product like this that knocks out a couple of allergens with one shot, is a blessing!  It gives food an excellent texture and doesn’t dry it out.  Try it in your next recipe and see if you don’t agree.

On to the Chocolate Coca-Cola Cake recipe.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

1 and 3/4 cups King Arthur Flour Gluten-Free Flour Multi-Purpose Flour

2 cups sugar

2 sticks butter

2 Tblsp cocoa

1 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 cup coca-cola

dash of salt

1/2 cup milk

1 and 1/2 cup small marshmallows

1 tsp vanilla

No mixer needed, just stir well.  In a saucepan heat butter, cocoa, and cola until boiling.  In a bowl mix flour and sugar.  Pour cola blend over flour/sugar blend and stir.  Be careful…the bowl will become hot!  Add milk and baking soda and stir.  Now add eggs, vanilla, and marshmallows and stir.  BAke in a 9″x13″ greased pan at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

Chocolate Coca-Cola Cake Icing Recipe

1 stick butter

6 Tblsp Coca-Cola

1 box powdered sugar

2 Tblsp cocoa

1 tsp vanilla

Heat butter, Coca-Cola, and cocoa in a saucepan until boiling.  Pour over powdered sugar and beat well.  Add vanilla. Now pour over a warm cake.

Yes, I know there is some cake missing.  My little tasters had to make sure it was “edible” before we served it up!  🙂  And, yes, I have thought about declaring it inedible for the masses, just so I can have it all to myself!

Enjoy the recipe and if you feel so inclined, cheer for the Texas A&M Aggies!

One thought on “Chocolate Coca-Cola Cake (Peanut-Free, Nut-Free, Gluten-Free)

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Thanksgiving Recipes | The Food Allergy Mom

Leave a Reply

