H-E-B Grocery Store Chain Establishes Gluten-Free Line

It drives me a little bit crazy when people mention all their good food allergy finds from grocers and specialty stores I can’t find locally.  It’s so frustrating that we can’t have that store in my neighborhood or at least within driving distance of my neighborhood.

That being said, I have to give a quick shout out to Texas-based grocery chain, H-E-B.  The store’s slogan is, “Here Everything’s Better” and they aren’t lying!  I’ve always been a dedicated H-E-B. shopper because of their good prices and their support of the Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network’s annual walk for a cure.  (Not only do they help sponsor the event, they show up the day of and have goodies to hand out to all the participants.)

In one of my recent trips to the store, I came across H-E-B. brand gluten-free pasta.  For those of you that buy the “specialty brands” of that pasta, I don’t have to tell you it can really put a crimp in your pocketbook.  To have a grocery store chain create their own brand of gluten-free pasta that they sell at literally a fraction of the price of competition is sheer genius!  Believe it or not, I haven’t even gotten to the best part yet.  I have found H-E-B.’s gluten-free pasta to also be much tastier than the competition’s.  The pasta doesn’t disintegrate when you cook it and doesn’t shed that slimy goo some gluten-free pastas do when you cook them.  I HIGHLY recommend trying out this time!  It is one I’m able to share with the whole family.

One more quick brag on H-E-B.  The grocery chain has also started their own line of gluten-free gourmet soups.  (There is a small brown icon on the top right of the package indicating it is gluten-free.)  Before being diagnosed with a gluten intolerance I loved soup!  Although I still make some of my soups homemade, it is nice to be able to purchase pre-packaged gluten-free soup when I’m stocking the pantry for hurricane season.

Next time you’re in an H-E-B. take a minute to tell them thank you…for making gluten-free foods more readily available and cost-effective!

For those of you who don’t have an H-E-B. close by, there’s a take home lesson here.  Really check the aisles at your local grocery store and see if they don’t offer a similar product.  Your family and your pocketbook will thank you!

One thought on “H-E-B Grocery Store Chain Establishes Gluten-Free Line

  1. Please be aware that HEB “gluten free” products are made in a facility that processes other foods with wheat. There is a large chance for cross contamination.

Leave a Reply

