P.F. Chang’s is a Gluten-Free Gal’s Dream

This weekend my husband and I had a date night.  This was a treat because it doesn’t happen nearly often enough these days with two kiddos and the rushing around of every day life.  Sometimes date night is a RedBox movie and microwave popcorn, but this weekend we opted for a babysitter for the kids and dinner and a movie for us!

As a general rule, I’m not a huge chinese food fan…mostly because it is something we can never eat as a family because of my son’s peanut and nut food allergies.  However, on date night, I’m a sucker for Pei Wei or P.F.Chang’s because the food is delicious AND they offer gluten-free meals.

This weekend my husband and I opted for P.F. Chang’s.  Before being seated I asked that they provide me with a gluten-free menu and was delighted to see the have actually incorporated the gluten-free menu on the regular menu.  I no longer have to request a special menu that the host or hostess has to hunt around for or ask managers about.  That in and of itself is a treat but it doesn’t stop there.

P.F. Chang’s had a promotion for dinner for 2 for $40 which includes 2 cups of soup, 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, and 2 mini-desserts.  It was quite a deal, but it is my past experience with some restaurants that if you mention needing to substitute out some of the listed items as gluten-free, the price goes up.  I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the waiter was extremely well-versed in which items were naturally gluten-free and which items he could substitute as gluten-free FOR NO EXTRA CHARGE!!!

I dined on gluten-free:  egg drop soup, chicken lettuce wraps, mongolian beef, and chocolate mousse.  Believe me, I was living the high life.  Maybe a little too much so according to the waistband of my slacks!

It seems as though more and more restaurants are adopting gluten-free items and menus.  So before visiting your family’s favorite restaurant or a restaurant you think is off-limits, take some time to do a little pro-active research and you might be pleasantly surprised!

Bon Appetit!!!

One thought on “P.F. Chang’s is a Gluten-Free Gal’s Dream

  1. As I was searching through blogs I made a list of about 10 different recipes I wanted to make. It was hard to pick just one but with a limited amount of time I had to make the hard decision lol. I have to make sure that no allergies on my cook! So pretty hard.

Leave a Reply

