Allergic Living Magazine A Gold Mine For Those With Allergies

This weekend I was pleasantly surprised to find a special treat in the mail!  I received a free copy of Allergic Living Magazine (as did most members of The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network).

If you follow my blog, you already know my philosophy is that a food allergy mom has never completed her education.  There are medical breakthroughs and advances daily that constantly change the playing field, and as caregivers of children with food allergies it’s important to stay on top of the food allergy news.  So I was slightly thrilled to take some time on Sunday to peruse my copy of Allergic Living.

On the whole, I am critical (perhaps overly so) of allergy publications.  It seems like so many of them have tons of recipes that include the most impossible ingredients to find and tend to cater toward individuals who are willing to spend hundreds of dollars ordering gourmet allergy-friendly food online.  While those techniques may work for some readers, I’m not one of them.  I’m a busy mom, wife, friend, and writer…I don’t have time to search the far ends of the earth for a rare cheese normally found in obscure locations in the world or break the piggy bank on gourmet foods that I could make at home.

When I first cracked open the cover of Allergic Living Magazine, I already had my guard up a bit wondering if it would be more of the same.  I was pleasantly, thrillingly, amazingly pleased!!!  Let me just say…if you know or care for anyone with food allergies, you must drop what you’re doing and subscribe to Allergic Living Magazine right away!!!  No, really – don’t waste another minute and visit (https://allergicliving.com/index.php/subscriptions-renewals/) to subscribe.

The editor, Gwen Smith, truly knocked my socks off with the editor’s note.  Gwen talks a great deal about living life with food allergies AND having amazing quality of life.  The two should go together like Sunbutter and jelly, but not all allergy publications see it that way.  Thank you, Gwen, for giving people with food allergies a positive, inspiring resource to increase the quality of life!!!

So, what will you find in the current issue of Allergy Living Magazine?  You will find easy, cost-effective recipes, personal testimonies, brand recommendations, food allergy and environmental allergy information, recent food allergy medical studies, asthma information, legislative updates, and much much more.

My child has had food allergies for almost seven years and I STILL learned many new things from this amazing magazine.  It truly has something for everyone!

As a parent of a child with food allergies, you can bet I have read this issue of Allergic Living Magazine from cover to cover, and I’m already anxiously awaiting the next one!

To those of you who work and write for Allergic Living Magazine, thank you from the bottom of my heart for leading the way and showing Americans with food allergies that their lives can be just as full, exciting, and wonderful as they’d ever hoped it would be!

One thought on “Allergic Living Magazine A Gold Mine For Those With Allergies

  1. Hello! I’m one of the editors of Allergic Living magazine. Thank you so much for your kind words about our publication. We’re passionate about what we do and it’s rewarding to hear that the content of the magazine is resonating with readers.

    We’re hard at work now on our Summer issue and it’s going to be amazing! Readers of this blog, here’s how you can subscribe if you haven’t already:

    https://allergicliving.com/index.php/subscriptions-renewals/

    Thanks!
    Kim Shiffman, managing editor
    Allergic Living magazine

Leave a Reply

