Udi’s Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Nut-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Udi’s, one of my favorite gluten-free brands, is usually only available at The Whole Foods market downtown or at the natural food store just down the road…but never in the grocery store.

Thankfully, the mainstream grocery stores are catching on and are starting to carry Udi’s muffins, cookies, and bread.  I’m particularly fond of Udi’s bread and nut-free granola mix.

Most recently I had the opportunity to try a new (or at least new to my neck of the woods) Udi’s product…their gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free chocolate chip cookies.

The cookies were soft, moist and had the texture of  the gluten-filled chocolate chip cookies I remember from years ago.  The cookies aren’t crumbly like many gluten-free cookies and they had that fresh-out-of-the-oven aroma to them.

With that said, I did feel like the cookies had a bit of an aftertaste that masked the delicious chocolate chip and cookie taste one expects.

Overall, the cookies weren’t bad.  I think the main thing that would keep me from buying them again is the price.  In this economy it’s hard to justify splurging on anything unless you truly love it and it brings you great joy.  While the cookies were okay, I could make my own cookies with Arthur’s gluten-free flour baking mix and could make two to three times the amount of chocolate cookies for the same price as one container of Udi’s.

Udi’s is still one of my favorite gluten-free brands and they made some delicious products!  I noticed on my last trip to the grocery store that they also have Udi’s snickerdoodle cookies.  I might have to try those too!  I’m a sucker for snickerdoodles!

4 thoughts on “Udi’s Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Nut-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Hi there. This is Jillian w/ Udi’s Gluten Free Foods stopping by to say thank you so much for your review on our cookies. I think that you will be happy with the Snickerdoodles as they are my favorite out of the three varieties. If you try them, feel free to e-mail me to let me know what you think! Have a beUDIful weekend, Jillian w/ Udi’s

  2. I am glad to be one of many visitors on this great website (:, appreciate it for putting up.

Leave a Reply

