Walt Disney World Allergy Friendly Vacation Part 4: Hollywood Studios and Epcot

This will be my last post regarding our allergy friendly vacation at Walt Disney World (WDW).  If you haven’t already, please visit my previous posts for information on all aspects of vacationing at WDW from food allergies to lodging to pricing.

After two days at the Magic Kingdom, we headed out to Hollywood Studios for the very last weekend of Star Wars Weekend.  In my opinion, Hollywood Studios didn’t have a ton for the little kids outside of Muppets, Toy Story, and a few others.  On the whole, I think Hollywood Studios is more of a teen or adult-friendly park.

Nevertheless, we had a ball.  We ate breakfast in our room again and then headed down to Hollywood Studios about 9am.  Word of warning, they could open the park earlier than the listed time.  Some visitors were upset about the change in time, so it might be a good idea to arrive early just to be on the safe side.

We rode a few rides (definitely get a Toy Story and Star Wars Tours fastpass first thing) and visited a few gift shops…especially the Star Wars shops for which my son was ecstatic to go to!  He is a total Star Wars junkie!

ROSIE’S ALL-AMERICAN CAFE AT HOLLYWOOD STUDIOS

Lunch was at Rosie’s All-American Cafe.  It was counter service but my hubby explained to the cashier about our food allergy needs and a manager arrived shortly to let us know what we could safely consume and took care of the order herself.  It did take a bit longer because of our food allergy needs and due to the fact that we had to wait for a manager to run across the park to help us, but it was overall a very pleasant experience.

I’m ashamed to admit that I forgot to take pictures here.  I think the heat was starting to get to me.  The kids had macaroni and cheese and Enjoy Life cookies and I dined on gluten-free chicken fingers and french fries with Enjoy Life cookies.  It was a delicious lunch and we were able to eat and be on the go again so we could make the Star Wars parade.

We chose to take a little siesta at the hotel that afternoon and return to Hollywood Studios when the weather cooled off and there were hopefully a few less people crowding into the park.  It worked like a charm!

HOLLYWOOD AND VINE AT HOLLYWOOD STUDIOS

For dinner we ate at Hollywood and Vine.  The chef there (sorry I don’t have a name for you…he forgot to share his business card) was amazing.  Diners were able to do a buffet style dinner for which there were many options for us to choose from.  He offered to bring out fresh food if we were concerned about cross-contamination.  He was patient, calm, and very understanding of food allergies.  He said they have at least 15 requests a day for allergy-friendly dishes and he personally couldn’t understand why restaurants wouldn’t accommodate such a request.  Like I said, he was pretty wonderful!

My kids dined on meatballs, macaroni, corn, and broccoli with yogurt for dessert.  Meanwhile, I had rice, pork, polenta, mashed potatoes, green beans, fruit, and frozen yogurt for dessert.  It was fabulous!

On our last day at WDW, we headed to Epcot after eating boxed cereal at our room.  We had a great time at Epcot and easily spent two-thirds of our day at the front part of the park where all the rides, stores, and restaurants are located.  It was great for my seven-year-old, but even my three-year-old enjoyed it!

We ate lunch at a counter-service operation inside The Land complex.  I’m ashamed to say I can’t remember the name, but I believe it was the grilling station.  They had a lot of potential allergens in the same cooking area, so we asked to speak to the head chef who was able to steer us toward safe dining options.  Of all the places we visited for dining, this was probably my least favorite.  There weren’t an abundance of safe dining options which was a letdown after our other experiences at WDW.

GARDEN GRILL AT THE LAND

Dinner was at The Garden Grill, a very slowly rotating restaurant inside The Land complex that offers character meals.  The food is listed on your menu as to what you will be served…and I won’t lie…this made me nervous.  However, once visiting with the head chef, he was able to accommodate all of our needs AND eat almost everything listed on the menu for that night.  I was even able to treat myself to gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free dinner rolls.  Talk about being treated like royalty.  The kids got to visit and take their picture with several of the Disney characters.  We were stuffed and happy after we left the restaurant and had fabulous experience here.  I highly recommend it!  *Be advised, reservations are a good idea here.*  When you get there, please ask to speak to head chef, Matthew Styles.

I hope you have enjoyed my series on taking an allergy friendly vacation to Walt Disney World and that you have a wonderful experience if you choose to go in the future!

Leave a Reply

