Colorado, The Food Allergy Friendly State: Part 1

My next two posts will conclude my allergy-friendly summer vacation series…and it’s quite possible these will be my favorite vacation posts to date.

So far I’ve covered vacation destinations popular for those that crave summer heat and the thrill of amusement parks.  After all that sweltering heat and fast-paced fun, I think it’s time to head north for some rest, relaxation, and cooler temperatures.  Don’t you?

Let’s do!  Onward ho to Colorado!

Colorado has been a summer vacation destination for my family for the past two years and for many years to come I hope.  I am more relaxed and at peace there than any other time and place during the year.  It’s a great time to get back into touch with nature and recharge my batteries.

No we are not gluttons for punishment, but we did decide to make the full two-day drive to Colorado from Texas.  As tedious as the drive can be, it’s easier on the budget than flying and we took in some truly gorgeous scenery.

Most of the fabulous scenery is either the rich, green ranching fields of Texas, the rocky hills and plateaus of New Mexico, or the majestic forest-covered mountains of Colorado.  My point here is that there aren’t an abundance of restaurants or gas stations in the small communities sparsely located along the highways and interstates.  This will require a great deal of planning for the food allergy family.

You have two options when on the road.  One is to take an ice chest packed to the gills with safe meal and snack options such as sandwiches, granola bars, fruit, and cereal.  The second option is to identify safe meal options and large-scale chain restaurants that can be found in most small towns (think McDonald’s and Subway).

On some of our stops in larger cities we dined at restaurants with allergy-safe menu options.  Three of my favorite places we visited were Chili’s, Red Robin, and Romano’s Macaroni Grill.  All of these establishments have online and in-house menus for each of the top eight food allergens and they offer a fairly wide variety of food.

Now, let me stop here and say the one thing  I hope you take away from this post – Colorado is quite possibly the most allergy friendly state in the United States of America.  Food allergies are the rule here rather than the exception – and that was the case for EVERY SINGLE place we visited.

In many instances when I spoke one on one with the waiters, waitresses, and head chefs, they were able to offer me additional allergy friendly options that aren’t listed on the regular menu.

Most Colorado dining establishments not only accommodate food allergies, they welcome the chance to provide you with a hearty and tasty allergy friendly meal.

Now that I have you salivating over the tasty food that awaits you across the Colorado state line, stay tuned for “Colorado, The Food Allergy Friendly State: Part 2” for more information on where to go and what to do when you get there.

4 thoughts on “Colorado, The Food Allergy Friendly State: Part 1

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog! Thank you for posting about food allergy friendly places! I can’t wait to hear more about Colorado, as it is on our list to visit! Other than Disney, we have been afraid to take our son anywhere! Thank you!

    Kim
    DS – age 8 – egg, peanuts, tree nuts

  2. Hi, Kim! I’m so glad you found my blog too! I think parents of children with food allergies are fantastic resources for one another. We had an absolute ball in Colorado and just love it there! When you get ready to take your trip, let me know if you have any specific questions and I’ll do the best I can to answer them for you. Take care.

    Kimberly, The Food Allergy Mom

  3. I know this is an older post, but thanks! We’re headed to Colorado Springs with my toddler in 3 days…and she’s allergic to 14 foods that we know of so far. “Stressful” doesn’t even BEGIN to describe how I’m feeling about our meals while on vacation! Glad to know we won’t be the black sheep like we are at home!

Leave a Reply

