Finding Peace In The Storm…A Mother’s Struggle

As school started back this year, I felt more at peace than I ever remember feeling about going back to school.  All the appropriate food allergy and asthma forms were signed, dated, and on file.  We knew who my son’s teacher would be and already love her!  With two years already behind us at this same school, I felt like we knew the ropes.  The new school nurse is wonderfully talented and a trauma room alum…so she really knows her stuff!  What more could The Food Allergy Mom ask for?

I had it all perfectly under control.  Didn’t I?

Well, maybe until this week…

I had controlled all the controllables so to speak, but I hadn’t accounted for the uncontrollables (as we so often do in life).  On the craziest day of the week with a job interview, two school orientations, and a business dinner my son climbed into the car claiming trouble breathing.  Even with the air conditioning blasting and the radio playing, I could still hear my son breathing heavily in the backseat.  I was worried…really worried.

Two emergency visits to the allergist’s office and a whole slew of breathing treatments and medications later, my son is at home still sick.  We’ve gotten a temporary handle on the breathing situation and are waiting for the medicine to kick in so he can breathe even easier.  That’s the hard part…waiting: waiting for the coughs that rack his body to subside, waiting for him to catch his breath, waiting for him to smile with relief at feeling better.

I’d like to say I’m sailing through this week handling all these unexpected twists and turns with great grace and poise…but I’d be lying.  As I sit at the computer typing this, just thinking of the this week’s events exhausts me mentally and physically.  Still, I can’t help but think there are lessons to be learned here.

I am reminded of the precarious learning curve we never outgrow no matter how many years we are into this food allergy and asthma journey.  I am reminded what is to be a mom and to love your child so completely that you would give anything to keep them safe and healthy.  I am reminded of the awesome responsibility of raising a child with food allergies and asthma.

And I wouldn’t trade it for the world… for I am blessed beyond measure to have a sweet family that I love with all my heart.  I am humbled that God has entrusted them into my care.  And I am grateful for His peace and healing in the storms of life.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”   Philippians 4:6-7

One thought on “Finding Peace In The Storm…A Mother’s Struggle

  1. Pingback: Will Rogers Institute Creating Asthma Awareness « The Food Allergy Mom

Leave a Reply

