Cinderella Cookies Make Food Allergy Birthday Happily Ever After!

Most of you already know that my son has multiple food allergies.  But like many of you that I’ve heard from over the past year, I also have another child who does not appear to have food allergies.

Even though it is my daughter’s birthday, we still celebrate as a family so her birthday goodies have to be allergy friendly for my son to eat too.  For the most part, she is very gracious about it and happy to have something that is safe for her brother.

This year is a bit of a triple whammy, because we have her school party (just a special snack) and a friend party.  I’ve got more on my plate than I can handle at the moment, so I outsourced this particular project to a dear friend, Katie.

Her niece has peanut allergies and she really understands how to make delicious confections that you would never guess are peanut, nut, sesame, and chickpea/garbanzo-free.  She does amazing designs and works hard to make an allergy-friendly dessert that is every bit as bright, colorful, personal, and yummy as the fancy, store-bought creations…and I just LOVE that about her!

My daughter is into Cinderella so Katie suggested some ball gown and glass slipper cookies.  I thought it sounded adorable and they turned out to be absolutely precious!  My daughter can’t wait to take them to school tomorrow to share with all her friends.

If you live in the Houston area and would like an allergy-friendly confection for your household, contact La Dolce Vita Sweets and Treats by emailing Katie at sweetbakerytreats@gmail.com.

Thanks to Katie for making life on The Food Allergy Mom much easier this week!  She made my daughter’s cookies and is also making a cake for her birthday (pictures to come later this week).  I take great comfort in knowing I have found a very talented baker that gives the same attention and detail to food allergies that I would.

Leave a Reply

