Gluten-Free Pie Crust for the Holidays

If you’re gluten-free like me, with the holiday season approaching you are craving delicious flaky gluten-filled pies of all kinds:  pumpkin, pecan, apple, cherry, and the list goes on.

Normally I don’t like to fork over the cash a ready-made gluten-free pie crust costs, unless it’s the holidays.  I usually buy Gillian’s gluten-free pie crust as you simply fill the crust with your preferred filling and pop it in the oven.  It yields a beautiful product that is easy to make.  But, alas, I had trouble finding it this year and began to think it was a sign that a Thanksgiving and Christmas pie just was not meant to be.

Then I had some online sense knocked into me.  One of my favorite new sites is Gluten Free on a Shoestring.  It is absolutely amazing and fabulous because it gives you great gluten-free and some other allergy-friendly recipes you can make without buying crazy, hard-to-find ingredients.

So here I was, thinking about just skipping pie and eating fresh fruit for dessert, when I came across this post by Gluten Free on a Shoestring.  It was just the pep talk I needed (read it and you’ll see why.  Thanks, Nicole!.  I whipped out the supplies and got crackin’!

My crust came out a little on the thick side, but I probably could have rolled the dough thinner if I’d had more time.  Her recipe yielded one thick pie crust with extra left over, but not enough to make a top layer required for say, an apple pie. I made it the old school way with only knives and spoons, and forewent the food processor.  I opted to use King Arthur’s Gluten-Free Multi-Purpose Flour for this recipe and it turned out beautifully!

What a treat!  Now I have a go to pie crust recipe that will save me money and tastes even better!  Now that Thanksgiving has passed, you have a few weeks before you need your next pie so give this recipe a whirl so it will be perfect at showtime!

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Pie Crust for the Holidays

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Pecanless Pie « The Food Allergy Mom

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Round Up « The Food Allergy Mom

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Thanksgiving Recipes | The Food Allergy Mom

Leave a Reply

