Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Pecanless Pie

Before I was diagnosed with celiac disease and my son was diagnosed with nut allergies (amongst others), pecan pie was my favorite holiday indulgence.  The excitement and cheer of the season seemed to be all wrapped up into one savory, sugar-laden bite!  Yum!

My first hurdle was finding a pie crust I could make that would be both gluten-free and nut-free.  Thanks to Nicole, at Gluten-Free On A Shoestring, that problem is now solved!  Please see my previous post for more about this amazing allergy-friendly pie crust recipe.

My next hurdle was making a pecan pie, well, pecanless and still have that sugary-sweet filling and crusty goodness on top.  Hmmmm.  I played and I played and this is what I decided on for my final product!  It was absolutely, positively, amazingly delicious and tasted every bit like the gluten and nut-filled pies I remember from years ago.  It even LOOKS like the real thing.

Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Pecanless Pie

  • Gluten and Nut-Free Pie Crust (See Gluten Free On A Shoestring)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup Karo corn syrup
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 heaping teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of gluten-free oats
  • 1/2 cup of shredded coconut

Whisk eggs and then add sugar until mixed thoroughly.  Add the Karo syrup, butter, and vanilla extract and blend well.  Now, stir in oats and coconut.  Pour into the pie crust and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

*As always, be vigilant in reading ingredient labels before you begin cooking.*

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Pecanless Pie

  1. Pingback: Always Sick & Tired | Gluten Free French Fried Onions – Homemade Recipe

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Round Up « The Food Allergy Mom

  3. It has been far too many years since I actually baked a pecan pie. So, my question is since my son is allergic to dairy, do you think 1/2 cup of soy margarine would be enough fat for the pie? Sometimes, I find my soy baking to be lacking in needed fat. I miss pecan pies something fierce!

  4. To be honest, I think it will take a little trial and error in the kitchen with soy margarine before you strike the right balance…or at least that’s usually how it works for me. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Pecan Pie Without Pecans! (food allergy heaven) | www.gratefulfoodie.comwww.gratefulfoodie.com

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Thanksgiving Recipes | The Food Allergy Mom

Leave a Reply

