Delicious Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Cornbread

Since going gluten-free, I’ll confess to missing bread.  But…cornbread is what I miss the most.  I’m a southern girl at heart and I NEED my cornbread.  I have yet to find a ready made mix that yields a really taste recipe, so until then I’m mixing it up in the kitchen.

Actually, I have to give my mom and dad credit on this one.  They are always trying to help me come up with some new inventions in the kitchen and this is something they passed along to me.

Seriously, it’s the best gluten-free cornbread I’ve ever had and the rest of my family loved it too!  This recipe is great on its own or even crumbled up and added into a turkey dressing recipe (this post is sure to follow).

Gluten-Free Cornbread

  • 1 cup of King Arthur’s Multi-Purpose Gluten-Free Flour
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/4 cup of shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 and 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal

Directions:  Put all dry ingredients into a large bowl and stir.  Cut the shortening into the flours as you would when making pie dough.  In  a small bowl, combine eggs and milk.  Now, make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the milk and egg mixture.  Using a spoon, mix thoroughly.  Add cornmeal and whisk only until it is incorporated.  Pour into a greased 9×9″ and bake for 20-25 minutes at 425 degrees.

Delicious gluten-free cornbread at last!  Something to really be thankful for…

One thought on “Delicious Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Cornbread

Leave a Reply

