Mimi’s Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Turkey Dressing

At my house there is a constant battle and here it is…dressing or stuffing?  Well…it’s my post, so I’m calling it dressing!  How liberating!

It just isn’t Thanksgiving without turkey and many of us enjoy turkey for Christmas celebrations too.  And let’s face it, turkey just doesn’t take the same without dressing (er…stuffing).  Still, it can be a little tricky to find gluten-free and nut-free dressing that tastes like the real thing.

My maternal grandmother passed more than 10 years ago, but we still religiously make her dressing recipe when we have turkey.  It just isn’t dinner without it.  My grandmother’s recipe is gluten-filled, but with a few tweaks I made it gluten and nut-free and positively delicious!

Mimi’s Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Turkey Dressing

  • 1 and a half loaves of Udi’s Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Whole Grain Bread, chopped by a food processor
  • 2 recipes of Gluten-Free Cornbread, chopped by a food processor
  • 2.5 cups of finely chopped celery
  • 2.5 cups of finely chopped onion
  • 3 eggs
  • Sage to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  • 2 cans of low-sodium chicken broth (additional cans are optional)

Directions:  Pour bread and cornbread crumbs into two greased 9×13″ pans, distributing evenly between the two pans.  Saute the celery and onion in a little butter, once soft, remove and add to bread crumbs.  Add 4 Tablespoons of sage to each pan.  Add 2 tablespoons of ground pepper to each pan.  In a separate bowl, whisk eggs and then distribute evenly between the two pans of dressing.  Now add 1 can of low-sodium chicken broth to each pan (you may add more depending on your preferred dressing texture).  Stir the mixture well and cook in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until hot, stopping to stir and add additional chicken broth as needed at 20 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Mimi’s Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Turkey Dressing

  1. I was just told, about, 2 months ago, that I am allergic to all wheat, corn, rye, all grains…So going on a gluten free diet has really saved my life. It has changed my life style 100 % and for that I am so thankful for. Before I learned what was causing all my stomach problems, I was mostly home bound. Now, I can go when someone calls and says, “Hey, Mom do you want to go shopping with me?” It is so nice to be able to say, “Yes!” I will be 69 this Thanksgiving Day and it is my Cornbread Dressing that is always made….So now that I have to have a gluten free diet, I will make yours for me and the reg. one for the others…I will get them to taste it and if they like it…we may all be eating your Gluten Free Cornbread Dressing…lol
    Thank you for sharing….It amazes me how all of you come up with the different ways to cook things…I’m sure I will get the hang of it one day.

  2. Hi, Jean. I’m so glad to hear you’re feeling better after going gluten-free. It is life changing. My grandmother’s dressing recipe was always the cornerstone for Thanksgiving dinner, so I was so excited to come up with this gluten-free version that tastes like the real thing. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have. And it sounds like you are already getting the hang of things to me. 🙂 Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

