Homemade Gluten-Free, Peanut-Free, Nut-Free Nachos

Normally when it comes to football, I pretty much stick to rooting for the Texas Aggies (can you tell I went to school there), but this weekend I couldn’t help but be caught up in the pro football frenzy.

I’m a slightly crazy HUGE Tim Tebow fan (I could probably dedicate a whole post to that alone) for a number of reasons, so I was really cheering on the Denver Broncos on Saturday.  Sadly, I don’t think I cheered quite loud enough.

I live in Houston so on Sunday, I parked my fanny in front of the tube to cheer on the Houston Texans.  I’m guessing you know the outcome of that game too…we lost.

Maybe I should rethink watching the games of the teams I’m rooting for…

Regardless of who wins or loses, it’s not a party unless you have some yummy snacks to energize the crowd.  One of the things I made this weekend were homemade nachos.

Now I know some of you are already asking why make homemade if you can safely buy food-allergy friendly ingredients at the store.  It’s a fair question, but I think you will have your answer once you try the homemade version.  (Even my non-Mexican-food-loving-hubby, liked this recipe!)

To get the recipe for homemade tortilla chips that are out of this world, visit one of my favorite fellow bloggers, Tracy at Sugarcrafter.  She has amazing creations!  The only change I made in her chip recipe is to use canola oil spray instead of olive oil as it was all I had on hand.

Once the chips were done, I put them in a 9×9 inch casserole dish and added black beans, chopped bell pepper, chopped zucchini, garlic powder, a handful of shredded cheese and nuked it in the microwave for about two minutes.  You could add as many veggies as you like.  These would also be great with fajita meat.

With the Super Bowl coming in a few weeks, consider making this recipe an allergy-friendly, health-conscious addition to your party!

Leave a Reply

