Dining At Mooyah With Food Allergies

There’s a new burger joint in town, so move over McDonald’s.  That’s right!  Mooyah opened a month or so ago in our community and we’ve been curious if we’d be able to eat there due to our food allergies.

First things first.  Mooyah is a burger joint that offers burgers, fries, and shakes with just one or two more options for the kids meal.  It’s a pretty straight-forward menu.  When you arrive you write down each of your orders on an order form and then hand it to the cashier when you get to the front of the line.

My son has peanut, nut, sesame, and chickpea allergies and I am gluten-free, so I called to speak with the manager before we ever entered the restaurant.  She was wonderful and spoke to me at length.  Here is what she said:  Mooyah burgers and fries do have a seasoning on them.  The seasoning is not labeled as gluten-free, however none of the ingredients listed indicate gluten.  Nonetheless, she recommended ordering my burger and fries without seasoning.  This would be the best option for me and my son.  All burgers have sesame seeds on them, so my son and I would need to request our burgers be wrapped in lettuce instead of a bun.

Overall, our experience was good, but I’m not sure I would go back.  Their burgers were actually fabulously good.  But…everything is made in a conveyor belt style (think Subway).  The burgers are assembled on pieces of foil, but unless the workers are careful and change their gloves, there is still a chance for cross-contamination.

Bottom line:  Mooyah doesn’t hold a candle to Red Robin.  Red Robin’s food is excellent AND food allergy friendly!

Leave a Reply

