Nonuttin’ A Great Find For The Food Allergy Community

I try a few new allergy-friendly food products every month and like to think I have a pretty good handle on it.  Still…as those of you with food allergies know, the learning curve is never-ending.  There is always a new product, research, or find right over the horizon…which is endlessly exciting!

During the last year I’ve heard quite a bit about Nonuttin’ but have not had the pleasure of tasting it for myself.  I contacted the folks at Nonuttin’ and they were gracious to send me a few samples and asked me to share only my honest reaction with my readers.

First, a little background about Nonuttin’.  The company’s products are gluten, peanut, tree nut, dairy, and egg-free.  That is one of my favorite things about this company…that my nut allergic son and his celiac mother can actually eat the same food.  This is good for keeping the peace at home as well as being easier on the pocketbook than buying a separate food for every person in the house.

Now for the product reviews:

GRANOLA

Vanilla Cinnamon Nonuttin’ Granola:  This granola is soft and very sweet.  It is mostly oat and rice based.  Both my son and I liked this and thought it would be great topping for yogurt.

Cranberry Apple Nonuttin’ Granola:  This granola is also mostly oat and rice based.  I preferred this granola to the vanilla cinnamon because it had a deliciously tangy twist to it.  My only reservation about this product is that the ingredient label said it “may contain sesame” an allergy of my son’s.  All that aside, I liked this granola a good deal.

Blueberry Maple Nonuttin’ Granola:  Like the previous two granola, this product is mostly oat and rice based.  It reminded me of eating blueberry pancakes…but crunchier.  The granola was good, and had more sweet than tang to it.

GRANOLA BARS

Nonuttin’ Raisin Granola Bar:  This granola bar was wonderfully delicious and gets an A+ from both me and my son.  It almost tastes like an oatmeal cookie.  It was sweet without being overly so and we loved the chewy texture.

Nonuttin’ Double Chocolate Chunk Granola Bar:  I had to snatch a bite of this one from my son before he gulped it all up…which is okay, because chocolate chunk isn’t usually my favorite flavor in anything.  He went bananas for this bar and said it was “awesome” and “so good.”  As I said, chocolate chunk isn’t my favorite flavor in any product.  I’d rather have the raisin oatmeal cookie.

Nonuttin’ Chocolate Chip Granola Bar:  I’ll be honest here.  The double chocolate chunk granola bar was such a hit with my son, this one walked off before I ever even had a chance to sample it.  Still, the reviews mirrored exactly what he said about the chocolate chunk granola bar.  That’s high praise coming from a choosy eight-year-old!

TRAIL MIX

Berry Delight Nonuttin’ Trail Mix:  This trail mix was delightfully crunchy and tangy.  It was the perfect mix of tart and crunchy.  My only reservation about this product is that the ingredient label said it “may contain sesame” an allergy of my son’s.  All that aside, I loved this trail mix.

Fruit Explosion Nonuttin’ Trail Mix:  Loved this trail mix.  It was the perfect blend of chewy and crunch with a tangy twist that made me think it would be the perfect beach snack!  My only reservation about this product is that the ingredient label said it “may contain sesame” an allergy of my son’s.

BOTTOM LINE

My favorite products I tried from Nonuttin’ were the crunchy and tangy trail mixes.  My son’s favorite products were the granola bars…hands down.

Nonuttin’ has something for everyone and I was impressed with the taste and texture of the foods and their ability to make it free of many of the most common allergens.

Next time you see Nonuttin’ products in your grocery store, give them a try and let us know what you think!

One thought on “Nonuttin’ A Great Find For The Food Allergy Community

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday: What’s So Funny ‘Bout Peace, Love And Crunchy Granola? | SNS Post

Leave a Reply

