Mimi’s Gluten and Nut-Free Oven Fried Chicken

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

This recipe for Oven Friend Chicken turned out fantastic!  We seldom, if ever, eat fried food at our house, but we won’t turn up our noses at the tasty oven fried versions.  As someone who is gluten-free, I can tell you that it has been near impossible for me to find a gluten-free oven friend chicken recipe that tastes like the real thing…until I made this one.

The chicken was a hit all the way around and was gone in no time.  I hope you and your family like it as much as mine does!

Oven Fried Chicken

  • 2 cups of crushed potato chips (allergy friendly brand of your choice)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1 package of chicken thighs or legs
  • 1/3 cup of butter, melted

This is what it looks like just as you put it in the oven…

Combine crushed chips and seasonings.  Dip chicken pieces in melted butter and then roll chicken in potato chip mixture.  Place chicken pieces (skin side up and not touching) in a shallow and greased baking dish.  Bake at 375 for one our or until tender.  Do not turn pieces while cooking.

The finished product looks like this…

For some knock-out Southern home cooking, pair this oven fried chicken recipe with some allergy friendly macaroni or mashed potatoes and greens!

Yum!  Hope y’all enjoy it!

3 thoughts on “Mimi’s Gluten and Nut-Free Oven Fried Chicken

  1. Pingback: The Classic Southern Fried Steak meet South African Ellegance « madelinenel

Leave a Reply

