Mimi’s Homemade Holiday Dressing/Stuffing Recipe

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

Today’s recipe has been posted before on my blog, but it’s SO worth repeating.

It just isn’t Thanksgiving without turkey and many of us enjoy turkey for Christmas celebrations too.  And let’s face it, turkey just doesn’t take the same without dressing (er…stuffing).  Still, it can be a little tricky to find gluten-free and nut-free dressing that tastes like the real thing.

My grandmother passed more than 10 years ago, but we still religiously make her dressing recipe when we have turkey.  It just isn’t dinner without it.  Mimi’s recipe is gluten-filled, but with a few tweaks I made it gluten and nut-free and positively delicious!

Mimi’s Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Turkey Dressing

  • 1 and a half loaves of Udi’s Gluten-Free, Nut-Free Whole Grain Bread, chopped by a food processor
  • 2 recipes of Gluten-Free Cornbread, chopped by a food processor
  • 2.5 cups of finely chopped celery
  • 2.5 cups of finely chopped onion
  • 3 eggs
  • Sage to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  • 2 cans of low-sodium chicken broth (additional cans are optional)

Directions:  Pour bread and cornbread crumbs into two greased 9×13″ pans, distributing evenly between the two pans.  Saute the celery and onion in a little butter, once soft, remove and add to bread crumbs.  Add 4 Tablespoons of sage to each pan.  Add 2 tablespoons of ground pepper to each pan.  In a separate bowl, whisk eggs and then distribute evenly between the two pans of dressing.  Now add 1 can of low-sodium chicken broth to each pan (you may add more depending on your preferred dressing texture).  Stir the mixture well and cook in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until hot, stopping to stir and add additional chicken broth as needed at 20 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Mimi’s Homemade Holiday Dressing/Stuffing Recipe

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Round Up « The Food Allergy Mom

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Thanksgiving Recipes | The Food Allergy Mom

Leave a Reply

