Mimi’s Spinach Casserole

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

Today’s recipe is for a spinach casserole that the whole family will love and might even ask for seconds!

Mimi’s Spinach Casserole

  • 2 packages (10 ounces each) of chopped frozen spinach
  • 1/2 pound of mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 package (8 ounces) of cream cheese (cream cheese with chives is optional)
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 slices of Rudi’s bread, crumbled
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons of butter

Cook spinach until thawed and drain completely before placing in a greased 9×13″ casserole dish.  Add mushrooms.  Blend cream cheese, lemon juice, salt, and pepper and mix thoroughly before adding to the casserole dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Melt butter in saucepan.  Add bread crumbs to coat.  After removing from oven, sprinkle bread crumbs on top.  Bake 5 minutes more.

When I made this dish for my family, I was a little hesitant because none of them are big spinach fans.  Still the casserole sounded like it would have some really great flavor, so I was hopeful.  In hopes of making it an entree instead of a side dish, I even added a package of John Soules chicken.

The casserole came out fabulous!  My children eyed the spinach a little warily, but forgot to ask if that’s what it was until the end of dinner after they’d already eaten it.  In fact, my son even asked for seconds.  Talk about high praise!

From our dinner table to yours.  I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

