Mimi’s SunButter Balls

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

This recipe was one of my favorites before going gluten and nut-free, although I’ll warn you…it is far from healthy.  Still, sometimes you need to indulge and this is just the snack for that occasion.

Mimi’s SunButter Balls

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup light Karo syrup
  • 12 oz of SunButter (creamy only)
  • 4 cups of Cocoa Pebbles chocolate cereal

Mix sugar and Karo syrup in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. 

Immediately add in SunButter and stir until melted.  Turn off burner and let mixture cool for no more than five minutes. 

Now stir in Cocoa Pebbles.  Use cookie scoop or spoon to shape dough into balls and set on wax paper to cool for 2 hours.  Enjoy!

For this recipe, I substituted SunButter for peanut butter and I also substituted Cocoa Pebbles for Special K cereal.  Depending on your allergies, you can substitute the cereal of your choice.

Enjoy!

0 thoughts on “Mimi’s SunButter Balls

Leave a Reply

