Mimi’s Pimento Cheese Sandwich Filling

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

This recipe is for a pimento cheese sandwich.  As a little girl, I remember my grandparents always having a tub or two of this stuff around.  It was their go-to item for lunch.  Now, I’m sharing it with my own family.  In fact, we dined on these mini-sandwiches for a summer tea party this week!

Pimento Cheese Sandwich

  • Sandwich Bread (I like Udi’s or Rudi’s)
  • 2.5 inch slab of American Cheese (block)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 4 oz of pimentos
  • Mayonnaise to moisten

Mix all ingredients together (except sandwich bread) and then spread on your sandwich bread of choice.  It tastes great as an open-faced sandwich, too!

I’m picky about how long I leave food in the fridge, so for me, I would throw this out after two days since it has mayo in it.

Leave a Reply

