Mimi’s Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

Today’s recipe is for Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.  Yes, it sounds a little weird but boy are these cookies delicious!  Even my hubby who is a little on the picky side likes these.

Mimi’s Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies  (Yields 20 cookies)

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 Tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup SunButter
  • 3 cups oats

Directions:

Bring sugar, milk, butter, and cocoa to a boil in a small saucepan. 

Remove from stove top and add vanilla, SunButter, and oats. 

Mix thoroughly and then drop on wax paper.  Let cool completely.

*Substitutions:  I used certified gluten-free oats in place of regular oats and I used SunButter in place of peanut butter.

**Special Notes:  These cookies came out very soft and gooey even after I put them in the fridge and freezer.  If you make the recipe as above, I would highly recommend keeping these in the freezer.  My other suggestion, which I have not yet tried, would be to substitute 1 cup of the 2 cups of sugar the recipe calls for with light Karo syrup.  I think it will help the cookies firm up a bit better.

My family went wild over these cookies and they are a sweet treat with a little fiber worked in with all that oatmeal.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

