Mimi’s Lemon Bars

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

This weekend’s recipe is for lemon bars.  I had to tweak this one a bit more than the others to achieve the right baking chemistry for gluten-free, but I think it turned out well.  I’m a huge fan of lemon, so this recipe is right up my alley!

Mimi’s Lemon Bars

Crust:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup powder sugar
  • 2 cups King Arthur Gluten Free Baking Mix
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Blend ingredients and pack into a greased, 9×13″ baking dish.  Now, dot mixture with butter and bake 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  Crust stayed a very neutral, light color rather than turning brown.

Filling:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons King Arthur Gluten Free Baking Mix
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 4 Tablespoons lemon juice

Beat eggs until light.  Add salt, lemon rind, sugar, flour, baking powder, and lemon juice.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. 

Let cool and enjoy.  Store in refrigerator.

Happy weekend!  Hope it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

