Louise’s Applesauce Cake

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

Today’s recipe comes from a friend of my grandmothers, Mrs. Louise.  This applesauce cake was divine, although I’ll admit I had to make several changes to accommodate the allergy-friendly version.  Although it’s still wonderful in the summer, it would be the perfect treat for a cool fall day.

Louise’s Applesauce Cake

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 and 1/2 cups applesauce
  • 1 cup chopped raisins
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups King Arthur Gluten-Free Flour
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda

Cream butter, sugar, and egg.  Then mix in all remaining ingredients.  Turn into well-greased loaf pan and bake slowly at 350 degrees.

Special Notes:

I made the above version and cooked in a 9×5 inch loaf pan and cooked at 350 degrees for a little over an hour.  It was super brown on top and a little too mushy in the middle.  Apparently my grandmother made it the same way the first time because there is a small note added in different colored ink at the bottom suggesting that you bake in two loaf pans at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until cooked through.  I will definitely follow this suggestion the next time I make this dish.

One other note…Louise had an icing recipe that she sometimes drizzled over this cake.  Although I didn’t make it this time, I wanted to share with you for your kitchen adventures.

Louise’s Caramel Icing

  • 1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • dash salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Bring slowly to a boil and boil for one minute.  Add vanilla and cook until sauce becomes thick enough to spread.  It makes a small amount, but enough for the applesauce cake recipe.

Enjoy and happy baking!

Leave a Reply

