Mimi’s Not-So-Beer Bread

On  June 1st, The Food Allergy Mom began a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

I’ve been posting about two recipes a week and thus far I’ve had all good experiences…until today’s recipe.  The original recipe was for “Beer Bread.”  The recipe called for 4 cups of Bisquick, 3 Tablespoons of sugar, and 1 can of room temperature beer.  I substituted in gluten-free Bisquick and Redbridge gluten-free beer.  I cooked it in a 9×5 inch greased loaf pan at 350 degrees for a little over an hour.

It was not pretty.

I had my first clue when I mixed the three ingredients together and the mixture was still rather dry and crumbly.  I added part of a second bottle of beer to help the mixture congeal and it worked.  Then I left it to rise for 30 minutes (per the instructions) before baking, and it did not rise.

Refusing to give in to defeat, I cooked the bread anyway.  After an hour in the oven, the bread looked really no different than it did before I put it in the oven.  And the taste was pretty bad…thought my hubby might gag on it.  😦

Yep, it was absolutely, positively, no doubt a failure of epic proportions…an expensive one at that.

“So,” you’re asking, “why blog about it?”

I intend to blog about my recipe successes and failures because it’s important to show that EVERYBODY has them.  Every time you change a recipe, you are rolling the dice on the outcome.  More often than not, it ends in success.  But every now and then you’ll have a recipe fall totally flat.  And even that is a success of sorts, because if you hadn’t tried the recipe, you would always wonder.

The other thing I have going for me is all of my really smart, talented followers that are amazing in the kitchen.  So to all of you, I’m curious (because I’m not going to look at this recipe for a while, but I’m not giving up on it yet)…what are your suggestions to letting this recipe have an “edible” ending?

One thought on “Mimi’s Not-So-Beer Bread

  1. I don’t have an answer but I really appreciate your approach. I’ve purchased several of the packaged breads that have also been awful but the brownies are fantastic. That doesn’t seem fair! Thank you for the encouragement. Just beginning this journey…Theresa

Leave a Reply

