Finding Peace for Back To School With Food Allergies

Tomorrow is back to school for us.  We’ve visited the allergist, updated all the school forms, updated the medicines, met with the new school nurse, met with my son’s new teacher, and have gone over the basic food allergy rules one more time…just to be safe.  But I’ll be honest, the doubt still gets to me.

Have I done enough?  Did I make a big enough effort?  Have I covered all my bases?  Is there anything else I can do?

Not long after my son’s allergy diagnosis, these questions plagued me daily…heck, it was more like every second of every hour.  Finally, I had to let go and face the music that no matter how much I try, things won’t always be under my control.

I’m a religious person, so for me the only thing left to do is pray.  It’s something I do daily all year, but I find that I make a special effort to wrap my family in prayer at the beginning of every school year.  This prayer was given to me a few years ago by my son’s preschool and I found it to be so comforting.  It’s something I cling to at this time of year.  If you’re so inclined, read on and share these words with another food allergy parent you know.

A MOM’S PRAYER FOR THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL
Here we are again, Lord.  Their backpacks are loaded and their faces are scrubbed and their lunch accounts are full.

And I know you’ll walk with them, Lord.  You always do.  But a mom still has to ask:

Will you walk with them?  Will you whisper to them what they need to hear, when I’m not there to whisper it?

Will you please, oh please, cover their school with the protection only you can give, and will you keep harm far away?

Will you make their minds strong and ready to learn?  Will you help them understand that hard work honors the One who created them?

Will you guide their teachers, giving them patience and wisdom and creativity and more patience?  Will you bless them for their efforts?

Will you love all those children there, the ones whose lunch accounts aren’t full, the ones who feel alone?  Will you teach my children to be kind and unselfish and to love those who are different from them?

Will you point them back toward home just as soon as you can?

Lord, I give them to You today and everyday, trusting them to your care.

Blessings and have a great first week back at school!

Leave a Reply

