Applegate HALF TIME™ Kits Make Lunch Easy

I’m just going to be honest here.  I don’t like packing lunches.  Every day I pack a lunch for myself and my two children (and occasionally the hubby), and it gets monotonous.  It doesn’t seem to matter how many fun and “easy” ideas I find online, I usually don’t have the time or money to make them look like the picture I saw.   However, in full disclosure, I wish I was able to work magic with lunches like so many of you do…I’m a little jealous at how you make it look so easy.

Lindsay at Applegate contacted me about reviewing their snazzy HALF TIME™ lunch kit.  According to the company, “A recent survey found that 88% of parents thought pre-packed lunch kits were convenient, but 79% of those parents were concerned about the nitrates, preservatives and artificial ingredients in those kits.”

I’ll admit to having those thoughts and taking it one step farther with my worries about food allergies.  So, I emailed Lindsay with some food allergy questions and here is what she had to say:   “Regarding the top-8 allergen list (Milk / Dairy, Egg, Fish, Shellfish, Tree Nuts, Peanuts, Wheat, and Soy): Stonyfield Squeezers contain Milk, but do not contain any other top-8 allergen. They are produced on equipment that processes Milk / Dairy, but no other top-8 allergen. They are stored in a facility that contains Milk / Dairy, Tree Nuts, Wheat, and Soy.”  When I specifically asked about peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, and chickpea/garbanzo, she told me the HALF TIME™ lunch kits do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, or chickpea/garbanzo.  SCORE!

So what do the boxed lunches contain?  HALF TIME™ includes Applegate natural meats and cheeses (which have no artificial ingredients or preservatives, and are antibiotic- and hormone-free), Annie’s Homegrown crackers and snacks, and Stonyfield Organic YoKids Squeezers.

Applegate Half Time Lunches (4)

The lunches are not gluten-free, so I had to rely on my kiddos for this review.  My kids LOVED the lunches so much that when they got home from school that day and declared lunch as “awesome,” they wanted to know if they could bring one again the next day.  That’s what we call a hit at my house!

Applegate Half Time Lunches (3)

The kids devoured the entire lunch and I even packed a little side (fruit, cookie, etc) for my fifth grader to get him through the afternoon.  From a mother’s point of view, I could see how much they loved having a boxed lunch to take to school that so closely resembled the other popular boxed lunch brand that many of their classmates bring.

After my kids taste-tested the lunches, I did look for the kits at H-E-B and found them for $4+ each.  Because I can make a SunButter tortilla rollup/sandwich a little cheaper, Applegate’s HALF TIME™ kits won’t be an every day occurrence but something that might be a once a week or every other week treat.

Overall, my kids loved this product and it will be something we will buy from time to time.  And I won’t lie…when 11pm rolls around and I still haven’t had a chance to pack lunches for the next day, it will be wonderful to know that, actually, lunch is already packed.

Now here comes the really great part!  Applegate is giving away a special HALF TIME™ lunch kit to one of you!  This special kit includes:

Applegate Half Time Lunches (2)

All three varieties of HALF TIME: Turkey & Cheese, Ham & Cheese, and Bologna & Cheese

  • A draw-your-own lunch bag
  • A set of permanent markers
  • Coupons
  • Activity book

Interested?  Here’s how you can enter to win:

  • Go to my The Food Allergy Mom facebook page and comment on one food allergy safe thing you are doing for Halloween.  Then share my status about Applegate’s HALF TIME™ lunch kit giveaway!

Winner will be announced on Halloween!  Good luck!

Save

Leave a Reply

