Cooking with Chocoley’s Chocolate

Halloween has long since passed, but my peanut and nut allergic son can still remember seeing the popular peanut butter cups from trick or treating.  He’s mentioned on more than one occasion that they looked yummy and he wished they were safe for him.  I wished they were too.

If you’re a food allergy parent, a wish like my son’s not just a wish your child is making, it’s a baking challenge.  As a parent, we know that we could probably whip something similar up for them or that we’d at least give it the good ol’ college try.  And in true The Food Allergy Mom fashion, I got to work.

These are my peanut-free, sunflower spread butter cups.  Don’t they look fabulous?  If I didn’t tell you here that they weren’t a certain brand name product, you’d think they were exactly that.  Wouldn’t you?

Chocoley (8)

These stylish little cups of goodness were so incredibly easy to make, this will be something I make over and over again.  To begin, fill a regular size (or you could do mini-size) muffin tin with  cupcake liners.

I melted down a one pound bag of Chocoley’s Bada Bing Bada Boom Dipping and Coating Milk (so ridiculously easy to use and delicious to eat) in a microwave safe dish.  I microwaved the chocolate in 40 second intervals and stirred in between until the chocolate was thoroughly melted.

Then, I layered just enough chocolate in each  muffin cup to cover the bottom.

Next I melted approximately 1 cup of sunflower seed spread in the microwave until it was runny (~40 seconds).  I placed about one teaspoon of the melted spread over the chocolate already in the muffin cups.

Then I layered the remaining milk chocolate over the sunflower spread to seal it in.  Next, I gave it a good shaking so the chocolate would be a smooth as possible before I put it in the fridge to set for about 15 minutes.  After removing from the fridge, simply peel the wrapper off and enjoy.  (We stored the uneaten cups at room temperature in an air-tight container.)

I’m so thrilled with the results!  And my son is over the moon to finally have safe non-peanut butter cups.  Even my husband and daughter and I (who are not allergic to peanuts) loved this sinful treat!  These little goodies are a fantastic addition to the table during the holiday season and all year round.

No Peanut Butter Cups

*Follow directions above.  Recipe yields 15 large chocolate cups.

 

Then, I got to thinking I would try my hand at a recipe with dark and white chocolate mixed.  White chocolate is my favorite kind, but also not nearly as healthy as dark chocolate.  So I figure if you mix the two, that has to take away at least a few of those unwanted calories.  Right?  Uh…right!

Chocolate covered strawberries are so popular around here that they disappear almost instantly!  We had a special family gathering the other night and I wanted to make some of these, but up my game a notch and make them look professional.

They came out beautifully, didn’t they?  In fact, they looked so professional my husband thought I bought them at the grocery store!

My favorite thing about this recipe is that these chocolate covered strawberries are a cinch to make while masquerading as a picture of indulgence and elegance.

Buy a container of whole strawberries.  Thoroughly rinse and set on some paper towels to dry completely.  Let stand for one to two hours.

Melt half of a one pound bag of Chocoley’s Bada Bing Bada Boom Candy & Molding Formula – Dark in a microwave safe dish.  I microwaved the chocolate in 40 second intervals and stirred in between until the chocolate was thoroughly melted.

Once chocolate is thoroughly melted, dip strawberries into chocolate and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  This alone is probably enough, but I felt like a little white chocolate drizzle would put it over the top!

Enter Chocoley’s Drizzle and Design White Chocolate that comes in a fabulous squeeze bottle that makes decorating a snap!  (Sorry for the crinkled appearance…I took this picture after I used it.  Can you tell I gave it all my energy to squeeze out every last drop?)

Now, I’ll be honest.  I didn’t use but about half of this bottle to drizzle on my strawberries mainly because my son and I kept sneaking the white chocolate bites all week long to go with a little snack here and there.  Did I mention white chocolate is my favorite?  Because….yeah….it totally is.  The richness, the sweetness…the…(wipe drool)…I’m sorry…where was I?

Oh, yes.  White chocolate.  I boiled some water in a pan, then turned off the burner and immersed this bottle of chocolate in it without setting it in the pan.  It took about two to three minutes to melt the chocolate completely and then I was all set to start drizzling.  Then I put the cookie sheet in the fridge for about 15 minutes and the strawberries looked fabulous!  What didn’t disappear (we didn’t have many left), we stored in an air tight container in the fridge.  I wouldn’t recommend keeping these much longer than a day or two though…strictly due to the strawberries spoiling as fruit often does.

Dark and White Chocolate Covered Strawberries

*Follow directions above.  Recipe yields 15 to 25 large chocolate covered strawberries.

So very pleased with the end results of these baking adventures.  Thanks to Chocoley for making the food allergy life so very sweet!

Must go…I hear my running shoes calling.  Now if only I could remember where I put them.  Maybe the attic.

*Full disclosure:  Chocoley provided The Food Allergy Mom with free samples of the above products.

Save

Leave a Reply

