Eat Your Way Through The Super Bowl

Super Bowl Sunday is a mere few days away and people are getting down to business…planning the party menu.

The thing I love about the big game is that you don’t have to be a football fan to watch.  You can be there just for the commercials.  You can be there just for the half time performance.  You can be there just for the food.  It’s a win-win for everybody…except one of the contending football teams.

I’ll be honest.  I’m not a big fan of either team, but I am a fan of Russell Wilson and his outspoken faith, so I’m rooting for him to win.  Does that count?

Instead of a big party, it will be just the four of us on Sunday night carrying on the tradition of my husband’s family…finger foods galore for the duration of the game.

Here is what’s for dinner (and maybe dinner the next day or two after) at The Food Allergy Mom’s house:

Super Sunday Super Bowl Menu

  • Virgin Strawberry Daiquiris:  And without the alcohol, it’s really just frozen strawberries, water, and a non-alcoholic mixer thrown together in the blender.  It’s delicious and something the kiddies can enjoy too!
  • Grilled shrimp:  We buy them de-veined, peeled, and ready to go.  Before cooking we let them marinate in a concoction of cilantro, lime, lime juice, and oil for a couple of hours.
  • Wings:  You can find dozens of variations of crockpot recipes for wings and we have one all picked out!  All I can say is that we’re from the South so it will involve lots of BBQ sauce!
  • Chips and Guacamole:  One of my favorite brands of chips is On The Border tortilla chips and I pair it with homemade guacamole (mashed avocados, finely chopped tomato and onion, and salt and pepper to taste).
  • Veggie tray with cheese cubes:  Whether you buy the pre-made version or assemble your own veggie tray, it is the perfect healthy addition for your table.  If we do buy the pre-made version, I choose to make my own dips (my kids love it when I mix sour cream with salsa for a tangy dip).
  • Tortilla wraps:  We’ve made these in the past with everything from bologna and cream cheese to rotel and cream cheese.  To make them gluten-free friendly, I use gluten-free corn tortillas.
  • Chocolate-covered strawberries:  There are all kinds of ways to make these, but if you’re starting your menu planning today for Sunday and need chocolate fast, I simply melt my favorite brand of chocolate chips and dip the strawberries.  Works like a charm!
  • Cake balls:  This is a new one for us.  My daughter received a cookbook for Christmas and we are making these for the first time.  Keep your fingers crossed for us!

In order to effectively work off all that food, I’m pretty sure I’ll have to run triple the yards they run in the actual game.

How about you?  What are you cooking up at your house for Super Sunday?

Leave a Reply

