Pillsbury Funfetti Gluten-Free Cookie Mix: A Product Review

It was Friday morning when I strolled down the aisles of my local H-E-B looking for a sweet treat to serve at my daughter’s play date.  Usually I try to make homemade goodies, but when I spotted a new product on the shelf, Pillsbury’s Funfetti Gluten-Free Sugar Cookie Mix, I thought it would be the perfect snack.  That AND it would be perfect opportunity to taste test and share the results with you!

This is what the box looks like.  Although I can’t remember the exact price, it was under $5 and quite a bit less than the competition.

IMG_1118

Making the cookies was a snap.  I only had to mix in butter and one egg with the prepared mix.  Then you drop the dough by rounded teaspoons onto a greased cookie sheet (I used parchment paper on my cookie sheet).   *It is important to  round the cookie dough as you put it on the cookie sheet, unless you don’t mind wonky looking cookies.

Below is what they look like fresh out of the oven.

The cookies don’t change much in appearance other than flattening out a bit.  The box advises to bake the cookies for 8 to 10 minutes but I baked mine for closer to 11 minutes (it can be a little tricky to tell when they are done since they don’t brown on the edges).  The box also advises for you to let the cookies cool for two minutes after coming out of the oven before removing them from the cookie sheet.  They aren’t kidding…wait at least two minutes or the cookies will fall apart.

The cookies taste sinfully buttery and sugary.  The funfetti didn’t add any real texture or flavor in my opinion…it’s more of an aesthetic than anything.  I loved that the mix was so easy to assemble and could be whipped up in around 30 minutes or less, but I wasn’t wowed by the taste.  The first cookie was good, but by the second cookie it was overwhelmingly sweet and left a strange after-taste in my mouth.

Although all the kids ate a cookie yesterday, when I asked if any one wanted another today for a snack, everyone politely passed.

Bottom Line:  This is not a product I will be buying again.  I much prefer Pillsbury’s refrigerated gluten-free chocolate chip cookie dough.  All the same, I do appreciate Pillsbury’s efforts to cater to the gluten-free market and will continue to give their other gluten-free products a try.

To read more about my reviews on other Pillsbury products, find the search box on the right side of the page and type in Pillsbury.

Save

4 thoughts on “Pillsbury Funfetti Gluten-Free Cookie Mix: A Product Review

Leave a Reply

