Gluten-Free Product Round Up

If you follow me here on the blog or on social media, you already know I was blessed to attend the Gluten-Free Food Allergy Fest in Austin during the last weekend in February.

As a gluten-free gal with celiac disease, this kind of event is a dream come true for my stomach!  Here are some of my favorite gluten-free finds I just had to share with you!

*Please be advised, the below product reviews are for gluten-free products only.  Some of the below products DO contain one or more of the top 8 allergens.*

King Arthur FlourKing Arthur Food Truck

  • Offer both gluten-free and non-gluten-free baking mixes
  • Products offered:  GF Chocolate Cake Mix, GF Brownie Mix, GF Multi-Purpose Flour, GF All purpose Baking Mix, GF Scone Mix, GF Yellow Cake Mix, GF Banana Bread Mix, GF Bread and Pizza Crust Mix, GF Cookie Mix, GF Pancake Mix, GF Doughnut Mix, and GF Muffin Mix
  • Products carried online and at select stores (I buy mine at H-E-B)
  • *I am a HUGE King Arthur Gluten-Free fan and use it as a direct substitution for any recipe I’m making that calls for flour.  My entire family (even the picky ones) love these mixes.  To date we tried all of the following and LOVED them:  Chocolate Cake, Multi-Purpose Flour, All Purpose Baking Mix, Yellow Cake, Banana Bread, and Muffin Mix.

 

Udi’s Gluten-Free

IMG_4892

  • Products offered:  GF breads (loaves, rolls, burger/hot dog buns, bagels), GF tortillas, GF cookies, GF granola, and GF frozen meals.
  • Products are carried online and at select stores (I buy mine at H-E-B)
  • I am a devoted Udi’s fan.  I think their sandwich bread is one of the best gf varieties out there.  I always have a couple of loaves hiding in the freezer.  An Udi’s grilled cheese sandwich is pretty darn hard to beat!

 

Enjoy Life

The Food Allergy Mom and Enjoy Life's Katie Brunk

  • Products are free-from the “top eight” allergens: wheat/gluten, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish and shellfish (products are also made without casein, potato, sesame and sulfites)
  • None of their products contain genetically modified organisms (GMO)
  • Products contain no artificial anything and instead contain natural ingredients like quinoa, buckwheat, and honey
  • Products Offered:  Soft Baked Cookies, Crunchy Cookies, Cereals, Seed & Fruit Mixes, Chewy Bars, Decadent Soft Baked Bars, Baking Chocolate, Chocolate Bars, Plentils, and a new line of do it yourself baked goods will be arriving soon
  • Products carried online and at select stores (I buy mine at H-E-B)
  • My family and I are also HUGE fans of Enjoy Life!  It’s something my son and I can actually share together.  My favorites are the crunchy cookies and seed and fruit mixes, although we love almost all their products.  To see a review of Enjoy Life products go to the Search bar on the right of my blog and type in Enjoy Life.

 

Bona Dea

The Food Allergy Mom and Bona Dea

  • Based in Austin, Texas
  • Free from gluten, dairy, soy, nuts, and eggs  (Allergen statement:  Produced in a dedicated facility free of gluten, wheat, milk, soy, eggs, tree nuts, and peanuts.)
  • Made with all non-GMO ingredients and Organic Whole Grains
  • Products offered:  Outrageous Oat Cookies, All Purpose Flour, Positively Pancakes, Marvelous Muffins, and Scrumptious Scones
  • To date, I have only used the Outrageous Oat Cookies mix.  I made them for my family and they were gone in only three days!  I’ll let that statement speak for itself!  🙂
  • I was fortunate enough to meet some of these gals in person at GFFAFest and they were so kind and gracious!  So excited to find this new product!

 

Freedom Foods (North America)

  • Brochure shows products to be free from:  gluten, nuts, wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, and sesame
  • Products are produced in an allergen-free facility
  • There is 3rd party external validation testing as well as a full supplier compliance and audit program
  • Products offered:  Cereal (8 different kinds), Quick Oats, Pancake Mix, Pancake Mix with Quinoa, Smudge Cocoa Spread
  • Products carried online and at select stores (H-E-B carries them)
  • I did try a sample of the Maple Crunch Cereal and felt that it was a decent cereal.  It had a nice crunch to it and I love the options they are giving consumers.  Not only do can we eat allergy-friendly cereal, we can pick from several flavors!
  • The only drawback about this product is that it contains chickpea/garbanzo flour which my son is allergic to.  However, for those without that particular allergy, Freedom Foods might be a good fit.

 

American Gra-Frutti and Marilyn’s Gluten-Free Gourmet

IMG_4868

  • Products made fresh by skilled bakers
  • Products contain no trans fats, preservatives, artificial flavors, or artificial colors
  • The representatives at this booth were kind enough to share some samples of their A-M-A-Z-I-N-G cheese straws (in three different flavors including Cheddar and Jalapeno) and Bubble Bread Mixes (Original, Rosemary & Sea Salt, and Garlic & Herb)
  • I fell in love with the Cheese Straws…really loved them!  The Bubble Bread is fantastic as well…not to mention easy peasy to make and bake.
  • The only drawback to this product is that while they do use careful manufacturing procedures, they do produce mixes with nuts and ground nuts.  Although I can safely eat these mixes with celiac disease, I do not feel it is something my son would be able to safely eat.  *In fairness to the company, I did ask about the nut processing and they were very gracious to walk me through it…for which I am grateful and sincerely appreciate their openness and honesty.

 

Brazi Bites

  • Certified Gluten-Free
  • Non GMO
  • Trans-Fat Free
  • Sugar-Free
  • Products include:  Brazilian Cheese Bread (Garlic Asiago, Original, Jalapeno Pepper Jack, Bacon Cheddar Parmesan
  • These cheesy little bites are a piece of heaven.  I could hardly believe they were gluten-free.  I loved them!

 

Taylor Made Gluten Free Bakery

  • Products are gluten-free
  • Products carried online and at select stores (I buy mine at H-E-B)
  • Products include:  Banana Bread, Brownies, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Cinnamon Roll Bites, Cornbread, Cream Puffs, Hamburger Buns, Lemon Bar Pan, Multigrain Rolls, Mutigrain Bread Loaf, Pumpkin Bread, Rosemary Garlic Pizza Crust, and White Bread Loaf
  • I have taste tested the Brownie, Pizza Crust, and Hamburger Bun and truly loved them all.  Once I ran out of pizza crust I even used a burger bun as pizza crust and it was delicious!  I will definitely be purchasing a few more of these products from my local H-E-B…I’m especially excited to find and taste test the Cinnamon Roll Bites.
  • My FAVORITE thing about this company and that they are so near to Aggieland.  Gig ‘Em Aggies!

 

Happy Gluten-Free Eating!

 

Save

One thought on “Gluten-Free Product Round Up

Leave a Reply

