My Allergy Kingdom Allergy-Friendly Movie Night

Have you heard about My Allergy Kingdom?  The website is a result of an alliance between Mylan and Disney and is chocked full of great information for those with food allergies, including the newly diagnosed.  In addition the new collaboration yields a variety of recipes, tips for daily life with food allergies, great food allergy hacks for special celebrations, and much more.

I especially love the Celebrations tab as I feel like that can be one of the hardest things to navigate with food allergies.  This section of the website offers some festive but down to earth ideas that can make your celebration more of a happy occasion and hopefully a little less stressful.  I’m in love with these adorable little heart cookies for Valentine’s Day.

Before I continue, I have to say, I’m not being paid to write about Disney or Mylan in this post.  I’m a genuine fan of both companies and believe in what they do.  I’m inspired at all that Mylan does to give back to the food allergy community on a regular basis in addition to their marketing and distribution of the EpiPen.  Disney will always be near and dear to my heart and one of my family’s biggest blessings, because Disney showed us that vacationing with food allergies could be not only possible…but the most magical adventure of a lifetime!

A few weeks ago, Mylan sent me a “How to Host an Allergy-Friendly Movie Night” kit with a Winnie the Pooh theme.

The kit came with everything I needed to get started.

As you can see from above, the care package included: 

  • Winnie the Pooh party invitations
  • Winnie the Pooh-themed crafts (a 3-D character scene and coloring page)
  • A “Make-Your-Own Popcorn Bag” activity complete with bags and Winnie the Pooh stickers
  • Three recipe ideas
  • My Allergy Kingdom chip clip party favors
  • Additional information about the Mylan-Disney Alliance

As luck would have it, my daughter was under the weather the weekend we planned our impromptu Winnie the Pooh party, so we improvised.  Rather than cancelling the party all together, we sent invitations to a few good friends.

Minnie Mouse

Minnie Mouse

 

Elsa

Elsa

 

Snowgie

Snowgie

 

Ariel, The Little Mermaid

Ariel, The Little Mermaid

 

Donald Duck

My daughter helped label some of the invitations and pass them out, so yes…you did see Minnie Mouse holding a movie night invitation with Donald Duck’s name on it.  😉

Next came time for crafting.  Coloring always does good things for my daughter’s soul when she’s not feeling well, so it was perfect timing for this craft.

Next we started work on this 3-D Winnie the Pooh craft.  My daughter thought it would make a perfect centerpiece for our table.

So cute, aren’t they?  And really easy to make.  I did some of the cutting out, but my daughter helped fold and place the characters in the scene.

It was finally time for the party to start!  Once all our friends arrived…

…we had fun decorating our personal popcorn bags for movie time!

After all that work everybody worked up quite the appetite.  It was time to eat our Winnie the Pooh muffins.

We made these muffins from a recipe provided in the movie night kit.  The muffins themselves were a cinch to make and my family loved them.  The decorations on the top that “make” Winnie the Pooh’s face were more difficult to construct, but we were pleased with how they turned out.

No party is complete without a group picture!

Craft and muffin time were fun, but movie time was the main attraction!

We had a great time hosting our Allergy-Friendly Movie Night and hope to do it again soon when my daughter is feeling better.

Want to find more ideas like this one?  Be sure to check out My Allergy Kingdom!

Thanks to Mylan and Disney for giving us one more reason to live the food allergy life to the fullest!

*DISCLOSURE:  In the past, I received a free How to Host an Allergy-Friendly Movie Night kit for providing a complimentary blog post for Mylan. This post contains my honest opinion of the product and I was not monetarily compensated for my blog post.  All comments made by me about medical treatments or Mylan are at my own discretion and based on my own opinion.  Ingredient labels are subject to change at any time.  Be sure to personally review and verify the safety of ingredients in recipes and/or products before consuming.*

Save

Leave a Reply

