King Arthur Offers One Of The Best Gluten-Free Pizza Mixes On Market

Pizza used to be a favorite for me before going gluten-free.  I loved being able to have a delicious, hot pizza delivered right to my door without ever lifting a finger.  Lazy?  Yes.  An indulgence?  Yes.  Worth it?  Yes!!!

Pizza that everyone in my house can eat is almost an impossibility.  I have celiac and am gluten-free.  My son has severe peanut and nut food allergies.  It more than limits are options.  But…alas…it isn’t impossible!

King Arthur asked me to take their gluten-free pizza mix for a test drive and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to do so.  (Disclaimer:  Although they provided the mix  to me, the opinions presented in my review are my own and I was not compensated for them.)  We actually ate it for dinner tonight and it was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!  It was more than amazing, it was sinfully delicious!  My whole family was able to share the same pizza for dinner…what a gift!  Even better, is that my hubby who has no food allergies to date and is rather picky gave it his gold star of approval (no small feat, I assure you)!

King Arthur Gluten-Free Pizza Mix is one of the most authentic tasting pizza crusts I’ve had since going gluten-free.  It is thick (almost resembling deep dish pizza), springy, and tastes AND looks like the real thing!  For those of you who aren’t gluten-free, my raving about the perfect taste and texture of pizza crust may seem silly.  But if you’ve gone gluten-free, you know how hard it can be to find any bread products with the taste and texture of real bread.

Make sure you give yourself plenty of time when making the pizza crust.  You will need to start about an hour and a half out…but it is worth the effort.

I followed the recipe on the box, but made a few changes that I will mention to you here.  The recipe calls for several tablespoons of oil, which I substituted with applesauce in an effort to cut down on fat and calories.  When spreading out the pizza dough in the pan, I sprayed my hands with canola oil spray and then patted it down.  I’ll be honest here, I had trouble with the dough.  It was sooo springy and gooey, I had trouble getting it to spread enough to make two pizzas, so mine turned into one super-thick crusted pizza with a little dough on the side I ended up discarding as it wasn’t enough to make a second.  (This may be due to the food substitutions I made for this recipe.)

I highly, highly recommend this pizza crust mix for your food-allergy OR non-food-allergy family.  It was wonderful and it will definitely be my go to product when I begin to crave pizza!  Just look at this picture of our Hawaiian pizza with canadian bacon, mozzarella cheese, pineapple, and mushrooms and tell me your mouth isn’t watering!  Yummm!!!

2 thoughts on “King Arthur Offers One Of The Best Gluten-Free Pizza Mixes On Market

  1. You mentioned in your blog that you had trouble working with the batter-like dough. It is really tricky and I also struggled the first time I used it. Just know that the dough will spread outward a bit as it proofs the second time and bakes, so if you can’t stretch and smear it all the way to the outside of the pan, it’s okay. You can always use the bottom of another pan or large pot to help encourage the dough to spread evenly. Happy gluten-freedom to you!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment