Hawaiian Wedding Cake

Starting today, The Food Allergy Mom is beginning a new post series called, “What’s Cookin’ In Grandma’s Kitchen” to encourage food allergy families to reclaim their kitchens.  A couple of times each week I will be posting allergy-friendly, gluten-free, and nut-free versions of my grandmother’s recipes.

I have dozens of my grandmother’s old recipe cards that tell the tale of delicious dinner and dessert dishes.  When my grandmother made these recipes years ago, she wasn’t cooking for anyone with food allergies like I am.  (I am gluten-free and my son has nut and peanut allergies.)

Now that my own family has food allergies, I don’t want her amazing recipes to just be thrown aside.  My mission this summer is to start going through her recipe cards one by one and making my own gluten and nut-free versions for my family.

Today’s recipe makeover comes from my grandmother’s trusty recipe box.  It’s just chocked full of oldie but goodie recipes that contain ideas for delicious dishes.  The only downside is that most of them contain nuts and gluten.

Never fear.  At The Food Allergy Mom we are all about revamping existing recipes to accommodate our dietary restrictions without sacrificing taste.

This dish was terribly easy to make and is surprisingly light and decadent all at the same time.  This cake must be refrigerated, so if taking it to someone’s house make sure they have some extra room to store it in the fridge until dessert time.

My family went positively bonkers for this cake and it will be one that I will make many times over in the coming summer months!  Enjoy!

Hawaiian Wedding Cake

Make cake recipe,bake, and let cool completely.

Pour one 14 ounce can of crushed pineapple (drained) over the cooled cake and spread evenly.

To make the next layer, mix the following ingredients in a bowl:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 small boxes of allergy-friendly instant vanilla pudding

Now pour this mixture on top of the pineapple and cake.

Spread 1 small tub of Cool Whip over the top of the cake and enjoy immediately or refrigerate.  This cake will keep for several days in the refrigerator.

*My grandmother’s original recipe was made with a regular cake mix that contained gluten and possible cross-contamination for nuts.  By substituting King Arthur Gluten-Free Vanilla Cake Mix, I was able to make this cake gluten and still crazy delicious for my food allergy family!

Blessings,

Kimberly

Leave a comment